M42 Orion Nebula: Deep Sky Photo with the iPhone 6

 

Taken with NightCap Pro. Long Exposure mode, 35.10 second exposure.

I wanted to get my first picture post established with one of my favorite recent shots. I captured the Great Orion Nebula a few weeks ago. My wife Emily and I drove 26 miles north of town in order to get to a dark site according to the Bortle scale overlay on Google Earth. I knew the moon wasn’t going to rise until later, and I’ll tell you what, the moon can really put a damper on a promising night of viewing and photographing. However, when we arrived at the dark site it really was dark, it was calm, and there was no moon light ruining the views. It took a long time to get this image but it was a blast! The results were amazing.

I am going to include all the details of every shot I take for anyone that is interested and wants to know the kinds of things that are possible with the iPhone, Night Cap Pro app, and the right equipment. Hope you enjoy!

Details

  • Celestron Nexstar 8SE
  • 20mm Televue Plossl
  • Celestron f/6.3 focal reducer
  • iPhone 6
  • Orion Steadypix Adapter
  • Night Cap Pro app
  • ISO 3200
  • 35 Second Exposure
  • Single Frame
  • Lightly edited with Adobe Lightroom
Leave a Reply

