NGC 2392 Eskimo Nebula: Deep Sky Photo with iPhone 6

eskimo-nebula-stacked-edited

NGC 2392 the Eskimo Nebula! This is a planetary nebula in the constellation Gemini, and it’s about 4,200 light years from earth. –

This along with another photo I took were kind of experiments the other night from my backyard. It was windy and shaking my telescope, but I wanted to test how well it tracked over a long period of time. So I just set my phone out there attached to the eyepiece centered on the Eskimo Nebula and let Nightcap Pro take picture after picture. I probably let it take 25 second exposures for 45 minutes. It was interesting to find that the Eskimo nebula moved all around the center of my eyepiece. With the naked eye it wouldn’t move near enough to notice, but with a camera it was very noticeable. I only ended up getting seven or eight frames that were worth stacking after all that time. Obviously the wind had a lot to do with that, but the tracking is not good enough to take long exposures. 15 to 20 second exposures seem to be pretty good. I already knew this, but it was a good test anyway! And a cool picture 📷

Details –

Celestron Nexstar 8SE

Televue 20mm Plossl

Celestron F/6.3 focal reducer

iPhone 6

Orion Steadypix Adapter

Night Cap Pro App

ISO – 8000

Exposure – 25 seconds

Frames – 7 frames stacked

Stacked in Nebulosity 4

Light editing in Lightroom

Leave a Reply

